External Website

Information about the 10th European Lisp Symposium, ELS 2017 can be found on:

Call for Papers

The purpose of the European Lisp Symposium is to provide a forum for the discussion and dissemination of all aspects of design, implementation and application of any of the Lisp and Lisp-inspired dialects, including Common Lisp, Scheme, Emacs Lisp, AutoLisp, ISLISP, Dylan, Clojure, ACL2, ECMAScript, Racket, SKILL, Hop and so on. We encourage everyone interested in Lisp to participate.

The 10th European Lisp Symposium invites high quality papers about novel research results, insights and lessons learned from practical applications and educational perspectives. We also encourage submissions about known ideas as long as they are presented in a new setting and/or in a highly elegant way.

Topics include but are not limited to:

  • Context-, aspect-, domain-oriented and generative programming
  • Macro-, reflective-, meta- and/or rule-based development approaches
  • Language design and implementation
  • Language integration, inter-operation and deployment
  • Development methodologies, support and environments
  • Educational approaches and perspectives
  • Experience reports and case studies

We invite submissions in the following forms:

Technical papers of up to 8 pages that describe original results or explain known ideas in new and elegant ways.
Abstracts of up to 2 pages for demonstrations of tools, libraries, and applications.
Abstracts of up to 4 pages for in-depth presentations about topics of special interest for at least 90 minutes and up to 180 minutes.
Lightning talks
The symposium will also provide slots for lightning talks, to be registered on-site every day.

All submissions should be formatted following the ACM SIGS guidelines and include ACM classification categories and terms. For more information on the submission guidelines and the ACM keywords, see: http://www.acm.org/sigs/publications/proceedings-templates and http://www.acm.org/about/class/1998. The conference proceedings will be published in the ACM Digital Library.

Important dates:

Submission deadline
30 Jan 2017 6 Feb 2017
Notification of acceptance
27 Feb 2017
Final papers due
20 Mar 2017
03-04 Apr 2017

Programme chair:

  • Alberto Riva, University of Florida, USA

Programme committee:

  • Marco Antoniotti, Università Milano Bicocca, Italy
  • Marc Battyani, FractalConcept
  • Theo D’Hondt, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium
  • Marc Feeley, Université de Montreal, Canada
  • Stelian Ionescu, Google
  • Rainer Joswig, Independent Consultant, Germany
  • António Menezes Leitão, Technical University of Lisbon, Portugal
  • Nick Levine, RavenPack
  • Henry Lieberman, MIT, USA
  • Mark Tarver, Shen Programming Group
  • Jay McCarthy, University of Massachusetts Lowell, USA
  • Christian Queinnec, Université Pierre et Marie Curie, France
  • François-René Rideau, Bridgewater Associates, USA
  • Nikodemus Siivola, ZenRobotics Ltd
  • Alessio Stalla, Università degli Studi di Genova, Italy
  • Erick Gallesio, Université de Nice Sophia-Antipolis, France